Nicaragan Cuisine

Agriculture

Nicaragua is mainly an agrarian country. More than half the population works on farms and 40% of the country’s area is used for farming and raising cattle. Most of the agricultural production is meant for export, mainly coffee followed by bananas, sugar, tobacco, sesame, beef and shellfish. In addition to this, rice and corn are grown in Nicaragua. The largest part of the rural population lives on subsistence agriculture and farms for personal use, mainly red beans, bananas and corn.

Corn – life basis

An important contribution of the New World to mankind is corn. Its origin is in Mexico or Central America, and according to legend it is a gift from Quetzalcoatl, the leader and chief deity of the Aztecs. He placed a grain of corn onto the lips of the first man and the first woman of the world so that they were able to think and work. Today corn is a staple on the nutritional schedule in Central America and Mexico: As a basic food it has manifold forms such as tortilla, gravy, dough and salad but also beverages like Pinol or Chicha. Tortillas are made of corn meal and roasted on a baking tin over an open fire. They are the most important staple food and come with almost every meal.

Culture:

It is said that Nicaragua is a country of poets and that everybody makes up poems. This may be an exaggeration, but literature certainly plays an important role. Ruben Darío and Ernesto Cardenal, two of the most important poets in the Spanish language, are cases in point. But there are other contemporary writers and poets of world renown: Gioconda Belli and Sergio Ramirez, both of whom are critical commentators of the Nicaraguan revolution. 

The motto of Nicaraguan taste in music could be this: Play it loud!

If you turn it down it will please you with its astonishing diversity and good musicians. The brothers Mejía Godoy are the most famous of all; they played an important role during the revolutionary years but continue their political and social work even today, in politically confusing and complicated times.

A good variety of salsa and merengue are played by Macolla and the Pacific coast band Dimensión Costeña who make their listeners aware of the thinly populated and neglected Atlantic coast.

Nicaragua’s traditional music is called Rancheras, original dance pieces which can be heard in any pub. Marimba bands of four and more musicians walk from restaurant to restaurant and play their songs for tips and on special occasions such as birthdays or for declarations of love. Norma Helena Gadea is the Nicaraguan Mercedes Sosa, and she is an excellent singer of Nicaraguan and Latin American folklore.

© 2011 An article by Gerd Schuman

Küche und Kultur

Landwirtschaft

Nicaragua ist hauptsächlich ein Agrarland. Über die Hälfte der Bevölkerung arbeitet in der Landwirtschaft und 40 % der Fläche des Landes wird für den Anbau von Landwirtschaft und Viehzucht genutzt. Der größte Teil der landwirtschaftlichen Produktion geht in den Export: Hauptsächlich Kaffee, dann Bananen, Zucker, Tabak, Sesam, Rindfleisch und Schalentiere. Außerdem werden Reis und Mais in Nicaragua angebaut. Der größte Teil der Landbevölkerung Nicaraguas lebt von der Subsistenzwirtschaft und baut für den eigenen Verbrauch an, hauptsächlich rote Bohnen, Bananen und Mais.

Der Mais – Grundlage des Lebens

Ein wichtiger Beitrag der Neuen Welt an die Menschheit ist der Mais. Sein Ursprung liegt in Mexiko oder Zentralamerika und der Legende nach ist er ein Geschenk Quetzalcoatls, Führer und wichtigste Gottheit der Azteken. Er gab dem ersten Mann und der ersten Frau seiner Welt ein Korn Mais auf ihre Lippen, so dass sie arbeiten und denken konnten. Heute ist der Mais aus dem Ernährungsplan Zentralamerikas und Mexikos nicht wegzudenken: Als Grundnahrungsmittel erscheint er in den verschiedensten Formen wie Tortilla, Soßenbinder, Teig, Salat und auch als Getränk wie Pinol oder Chicha. Tortillas aus Maismehl werden auf einem Backblech und offenem Feuer hergestellt. Sie sind das wichtigste Grundnahrungsmittel und begleiten fast jede Mahlzeit.

KULTUR:

Man sagt, Nicaragua sei das Land der Poeten und jeder könne dichten. Auch wenn das übertrieben ist, nimmt die schöne Literatur in dem Land einen besonderen Stellenwert ein. Davon zeugen zwei der bedeutendsten Dichter spanischer Sprache: Ruben Darío und Ernesto Cardenal. Aber auch zeitgenössische Schriftsteller und Poeten sind weltweit bekannt: Gioconda Belli und Sergio Ramirez, beide kritische Begleiter der nicaraguanischen Revolution.

Das Motto des nicaraguanischen Musikgeschmacks könnte lauten: Musik muss laut sein!

Dreht man sie leiser, erfreut sie einen mit einer erstaunlichen Vielfalt und guten Interpreten. Am bekanntesten sind die Brüder Mejía Godoy, die eine herausragende Rolle in den Revolutionsjahren gespielt haben, aber auch heute noch in politisch verworrenen und komplizierten Zeiten ihr politisches und soziales Engagement musikalisch fortführen.

Guten Salsa und Merengue kann man hören von Macolla und der Pazifikband Dimensión Costeña, die die dünnbesiedelte und vernachlässigte Atlantikküste mehr ins Bewusstsein rückt.

Die traditionelle Musik Nicaraguas sind die Rancheras, ursprüngliche ländliche Tanzstücke, die in jeder Kneipe zu hören sind. Marimba Bands von 4 und mehr Musikern wandern von Restaurant zu Restaurant und spielen ihre Lieder gegen spontane Bezahlung für verschiedene Anlässe wie Geburtstage oder Liebeserklärungen.

Norma Helena Gadea ist die nicaraguanische Mercedes Sosa, eine hervorragende Interpretin der nicaraguanischen und auch lateinamerikanischen Folklore.

© 2011 Ein Beitrag von Gerd Schuman